cat thrasher photography

Boxes and identities

leave a comment »

I am on the lookout for boxes! I have been in and out of many a store in Charlottesville and Alexandria, and cannot seem to find exactly what I’m looking for – if it’s within the price range, it’s too cheesy for me. If it’s exactly what I want, it’s too expensive.

Why am I looking for boxes? One of the take-home messages of the recent photography workshop I attended was that a photographer should deliver a product that reflects who they are, what their style is, their point of view. Seems obvious, right? Not exactly: when you’re in the midst of running an operation that is part business and part creation, things like this can get lost in the fray.

Therefore, I have begun to re-think many things I’m doing, including my manner of photograph presentation – and I need boxes!

Below are a few that are very close to perfect. If you know anyone local to Virginia who makes containers similar to those below, please let me know!

I love these for the color and the butterfly/bird emblem  in the center. If I could just find a bag of charms similar t0 that, I’d be good to go.

These are more than vintage – they’re antique! The price tag was $85 each – but I’d love to find them newer, cleaner, and a little less pricey. So far, the only place I’ve found that makes these en mass is in China…and I’d really prefer to stay local with this endeavor. Let me know if you can help!

Written by catthrasher

November 29, 2009 at 6:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

